• affiliated with



Utplavana is the Sanskrit word which means to spring or leap. Leaping becomes an important step for traversing the stage while performing or at times for conveying something dramatic too. In the theory of Bharatnatyam, the definition of various leaps is given by the Utplavana Bhedas.

The shlokam of the Utplavana Bhedas is as follows:

‘Athotplavana bhedaanaam lakshanam prikathyate
Alang kartari vaa shvo utplavanam motitam tatha
Kripaalagamiti khyaatam panchadhotplavanam budhaiha’

The Utplavana Bhedas are of five kinds:

  1. Alagam Utplavana: Placing the hands in Shikharam on the waist and leaping is called Alagam.
  2. Kartri Utplavana: Holding both hands in Shikharam, downwards on either sides of the waist, leap in a way that the left foot touches the posterior and land on the toes. This is called Kartri.
  3. Ashwa Utplavana: Holding both hands in Tripatakam, with fingers of one hand near the wrist of the other, leap with both feet and place them together. This is called Ashwa.
  4. Motita Utplavana: Like Kartri, jump, but alternately on the sides. This is called Motita.
  5. Kripaalagam Utplavana: Place the hands on either sides in Ardhachandra, and jump with the heels touching the opposite posterior. This is called Kripaalagam.

Leave a Reply