• affiliated with


  • Home

aking a turn while dancing is broadly what Bhramari can be understood as. Bhramari lakshanam in the classical texts thus describes the various flights.

The shloka according to the Natyashastra is as follows:

Bhramaryaa lakshanaam yatra vakshye Lakshanabhedataha
Utplut bhramari chakra bhramari garudaabhidaa
Tatha ek pada bhramari kunchitabhramari tathaa
Aakash bhramari chaiva Tathaa-ang bhramareeti cha
Bhramaryaha sapta vigyeyaa natyaashastra vishaaradaiha

According to Natyashastra , there are seven types of Bhramari. These are:

  1. Utpluta Bhramari: Keeping the feet together in Samapada, make a complete circle. (Turn round completely). This is Utpluta.
  2. Chakra Bhramari: Standing on the toes, holding both hands in tripataka, take a complete circle, using quick steps. This is called chakra.
  3. Garuda Bhramari: Sitting on one knee, stretching the other leg, move around having the bent knee as fulcrum, with both hands outstretched. This is called Garuda.
  4. Eka pada Bhramari: While standing on one leg, the other leg is lifted and a quick round is made on that planted foot, and vice versa. This is called ekapada.
  5. Kunchita Bhramari: Rotating on the toes with bent knees is called kunchita.
  6. Aakaash Bhramari: Leap with legs stretched and turning around, land in samapada. This is called samapada.
  7. Anga Bhramari: Starting with the feet placed one cubit apart, leap in the air and after a circling movement land in the original position. This is called anga.

Leave a Reply